MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Polyvore - positive or negative impact?  (Read 3256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


« on: May 02, 2008, 00:11 »

I'd never heard of this site before today, but my google alert (looking for images in use) found these:


The image shown is a watermarked comp from StockXpert, but if you look at the pages that use the image in the collage/montage (not really sure what it is), on the right are some links to the places to get the items put together, and there is a link back to the image page at StockXpert where someone could buy the image if they wanted.

My first reaction was that this is almost like a referral site - these collages are essentially ads - rather than someone improperly using a watermarked comp as a finished part of a website. I can't imagine how this site is going to generate many sales - who buys clothes with a bag, shoes and a stock photo?

If you go to the interface to create a page, they have a tab for "backgrounds" and the only site that sells images (there are a bunch of freebie sites) is StockXpert, so I assume this is a partnership deal that StockXpert explicitly set up? Did I miss an announcement on this?

« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 00:57 »
check out this thread

Polyvore - is this legal?


« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2008, 03:08 »
Thanks for the link - I didn't know about the earlier discussion. Right now the list of sites in their UI only includes StockXpert - perhaps because they were told to stop by everyone else. I posted something in StockXpert's forum to ask what they think.

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2008, 15:46 »
I never got an answer back out of LO when I asked....   no surprise why now...  mine are still up there and being used...  8)=tom

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2008, 17:02 »
one of my pictures is there : http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/thing?id=390541 (from Fotolia)
I informed them of this site, and they told me that a standard licence may have been bought by them. They did not even bought a standard licence, and I must say that the sites from where these pictures are taken should consider this and do something to stop such use of their (our...) contents.


« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2008, 17:32 »
In the StockXpert forum, Steve-oh replied to my post and said he didn't think StockXpert had any deal with them, but he'd look into it.

In my case, the images were watermarked, so it wasn't a purchased item.

« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2008, 07:06 »

In my case, the images were watermarked, so it wasn't a purchased item.

same here.... they all have watermarks on them.... 

I've right-clicked the pix.... the quailty is extremely poor.... it's not like they can sell these things...           i think....    ???



Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
103 Replies
Last post April 21, 2011, 02:42
by Slovenian
19 Replies
Last post May 23, 2011, 04:30
by ShadySue
10 Replies
Last post December 03, 2011, 19:27
by madelaide
3 Replies
Last post November 28, 2012, 22:59
by leaf
165 Replies
Last post August 09, 2016, 06:54
by KnowYourOnions


Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results


3100 Posing Cards Bundle